Representative image

Mahmudullah XI clinch BCB President's Cup

Oct 26, 2020

Dhaka (Bangladesh), Oct 26: Mahmudullah XI emerged as the champions of the BCB President's Cup as the side accomplished a comfortable chase guided by Liton Das and Imrul Kayes at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Sunday. Mahmudullah XI defeated Najmul XI by seven wickets.
Chasing 173 runs, opener Liton found way back to runs in the tournament decider. The right-handed wicket-keeper batsman in the earlier games had struggled like many other top order batsmen in the tournament. However, on the day with a low target to chase, Liton was on song scoring 68 runs off 69 balls with 10 boundaries and despite losing two partners on the end earlier.
Liton added 63 runs with Imrul before departing in the 27th over of the chase and 45 runs away from the target. Liton fell off Nasum Ahmed through a caught behind while Imrul insured to finish the job remaining unbeaten on 53 off 55 with one boundary and six over boundaries with captain Mahmudllah not out on 23.
Left-arm spinner Nasum picked two wickets in the innings while pacer Al Amin Hossain grabbed one to his name.
Earlier, Sumon Khan took the limelight for Mahmudullah XI with the ball as the young right-arm pacer picked five-for and was instrumental to restrict Najmul XI to a below par total.
Sumon did the major job of breaking the opponents' backbone with the five wickets conceding just 38 runs. Pacer Rubel Hossain took two wickets while Mehedi Hasan, Mahmudullah and Ebadot Hossain took one wicket each.
Najmul XI had come to the final as the league topper boosted by the batting unit. However, in the crucial tie the side in-form batters Mushfiqur Rahim and Afif Hossain failed to get going. Mushfiqur and Afif, the two top scores of the tournament, could score just 12 and a duck respectively and both falling again Sumon.
Middle-order batsman Irfan Shukkur played a lone hand scoring 75 off 77 deliveries to take the total to 173. Skipper Najmul scored 32 while Towhid Hridoy got 26 runs.
BCB President's Cup was the first official cricket event in Bangladesh since the Covid-19 pandemic. The tournament is being considered as a pilot project by Bangladesh Cricket Board [BCB] to understand and learn the process to get back cricket amid the Covid-19 concern. BCB in its series of plan is considering holding a T20 tournament in November.
Brief score:
Najmul XI: 173/10 in 47.1 overs (Irfan 75, Sumon 5/38, Rubel 2/27)
Mahmudullah XI: 177/3 in 29.4 overs (Liton 68, Imrul 53*, Nasum 2/48)
Mahmudullah XI won by 7 wickets
Batsman of the final - Irfan Shukkur
Bowler of the final - Sumon Khan
Fielder of the final - Nurul Hasan
Player of the final - Sumon Khan
Player of the Tournament - Mushfiqur Rahim
Batsman of the Tournament - Irfan Shukkur
Bowler of the Tournament - Rubel Hossain
Fielder of the Tournament - Nurul Hasan Sohan
Comeback player of the Tournament- Taskin Ahmed
Promising player of the Tournament - Rishad Ahmed
BCB President's Special Award
Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahadi Hasan, Sumon Khan, Afif Hossain,Towhid Hridoy
Source: Dhaka Tribune